Draft Rules
About the Circuit
Circuit By-Laws
GM Directory
Essays
For Managers
Reports
Sim Schedule
Downloads

Draft Rules

Annual amateur draft is run in Stats+.

Number of draft rounds might vary from year to year. There will always be a minimum of five rounds. Additional rounds may be added if they are necessary to ensure that there is a sufficient number of players in the league to fill every 40-man roster.

Each draft pool will contain enough players for all scheduled rounds, plus 20 more.

In game time, the draft pool will be revealed approximately two months prior to the draft; in real-time, that will usually be about two to three weeks.

With that much preparation time, GMs are expected to have lists made and be ready to roll when the draft arrives. A timer will be employed to ensure expediency. It will vary according to round. Each team will be “on the clock” for the following times when their turn comes around:

Rounds One and Two: four hours
All subsequent rounds: one hour

The timer only runs from 9 am Pacific time (12 noon Eastern) to 9 pm Pacific (12 midnight Eastern). During the period the timer isn’t running it is still possible for teams to make a pick, but they are not “on the clock”.

If a team’s timer runs out, Stats+ will automatically pick for them. Once that happens the team will be placed on “Auto Pick” for the remainder of the draft. (GMs may petition the commissioner for exceptions to this rule, but should not expect leniency—you had three weeks to prepare).

The amateur draft in this league is designed to move along quickly. GMs are expected to make draft lists, and to monitor the draft to ensure their lists do not run out.

Draft picks may be traded.